Federal Government Announces New COVID-19 Border Measures to Address “Omicron”

The Federal Government has announced additional border measures to address concerns related to the transmission of “Omicron”, a COVID-19 variant of concern.

As part of these enhanced measures, the Federal Government announced that, until at least January 31, 2022, foreign nationals who have been in the following countries within the previous 14 days will not be permitted to enter Canada:

  • Botswana
  • Egypt
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and individuals with status under the Indian Act, regardless of vaccination status or having previously tested positive for COVID-19, who have been in the above countries within the previous 14 days will be required to:

  • Obtain, within 72 hours of departure, a valid negative COVID-19 molecular test in a third country before continuing their journey to Canada
  • Undergo testing upon arrival in Canada, regardless of vaccination status or having previously tested positive for COVID-19
  • Complete a test on day 8 after arrival
  • Quarantine for 14 days:
    • Individuals arriving by air will be required to stay in a designated quarantine facility while awaiting the results of their arrival test. Individuals will not be permitted to travel onwards to another destination until they have received a negative arrival test result and until their quarantine plan has been approved; and
    • Individuals arriving by land may proceed directly to their suitable quarantine location, however if they do not have a suitable plan (i.e. where they will not have contact with any individual they have not travelled with, or do not have private transportation to their place of quarantine), they will be required to stay at a designated quarantine facility.

There are no exemptions currently provided for to these new requirements. Further, the Federal Government has not provided additional details with respect to the location of these designated quarantine facilities, or who will bear the cost of staying in these facilities.

The Federal Government has also announced that all fully vaccinated travellers arriving by air from any country other than the United States will be required to undergo arrival testing and to quarantine while awaiting the results.

All unvaccinated travellers, with the right of entry to Canada, will continue to be subject to testing on arrival, testing on day 8, and be required to quarantine for 14 days. Unvaccinated individuals arriving by air will also be required to stay in a designated quarantine facility, or other suitable location, while awaiting the results of their arrival test.

A copy of the Federal Government’s news releases can be found at:

We will continue to update our clients with information as it becomes available. If you have any questions about this topic, other COVID-19 related questions or any questions relating to workplace law generally please do not hesitate to contact a Mathews Dinsdale lawyer, or refer to the Firm’s other COVID-19 website resources.  

Print article

More insights


Nova Scotia Introduces COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave Program

The Sick Leave Program which will provide eligible employees with up to 4 paid sick days and will reimburse eligible employers that provide paid sick leave to employees. Employers will be eligible to apply for reimbursement effective on May 26, 2021.

Read more

Employer Update Webinars

Our complimentary webinars address the practical and legal issues for Canadian employers including issues arising from the current outbreak of COVID-19.

View our Webinars