In A Flash

18th Annual National Labour Arbitration Competition

February 3, 2016

18th Annual National Labour Arbitration Competition

Mathews Dinsdale would like to extend its congratulations to William McLennan and Andrew Mercier of Dalhousie University, winners of the 2016 Mathews Dinsdale National Labour Arbitration Competition!
Mathews Dinsdale would also like to recognize Kaley Duff and Hilary Ingle of the University of Toronto, the other finalists in this year’s Competition.
The Competition, held this past weekend at the Ontario Labour Relations Board, required law students from across Canada to research and argue both the management and union side of a case that centred on whether an employer could unilaterally change a Pension Plan from a Defined Benefit Plan to a Defined Contribution Plan, and whether an employer could discipline two employees for picket line conduct.
The students argued before panels of distinguished arbitrators and practitioners in the labour law field.
On Sunday, the finalists argued before The Honourable Mr. Justice Thomas Cromwell of the Supreme Court of Canada; Ms. Ginette Brazeau, Chair of the Canada Industrial Relations Board; and Mr. Bernard Fishbein, Chair of the Ontario Labour Relations Board.
Mathews Dinsdale would like to congratulate all of the competitors and thank all of the judges, adjudicators, practitioners, and coaches who volunteered their time to make this year’s Competition possible.
If you have any questions about this topic or any other questions relating to workplace law, please do not hesitate to contact a Mathews Dinsdale lawyer.
For more information on new developments in Workplace Law, please refer to our website at:
Click here for downloadable version.

Print article

More insights


Our complimentary webinars address the practical and legal issues for Canadian employers.

View our Webinars