Essential Service Resources by Province

In light of the COVID-19 Pandemic, various provincial and territorial governments have used their emergency powers to limit non-essential business operations in their respective jurisdictions. 

To date, most Canadian provinces/territories have passed legislation which names essential services which are permitted to remain open during the COVID-19 pandemic.  Other business must either adapt operations to meet provincial public health officials’ requirements (which vary by province) or close. 

Below, we  provide a link to each province or territories current list of essential services:

British Columbia:  Here

Alberta:  Here

Saskatchewan:  Here

Manitoba:  Here

Ontario:  Here

Quebec:  Here

Nova Scotia:  Here

New Brunswick:  Here

Prince Edward Island:  Here

Newfoundland and Labrador:  Here

Yukon: Here

We will continue to update our clients with information as soon as it becomes available. If you have any questions about this topic, other COVID-19 related questions, or would like assistance with developing and/or reviewing pandemic plans, please do not hesitate to contact a Mathews Dinsdale lawyer, or refer to the Firm’s COVID-19 website resources.

Print article

More insights


Our complimentary webinars address the practical and legal issues for Canadian employers.

View our Webinars